The Church Year

Seasons, Sundays, Principal Feasts and Holy Days


The season of preparation for Christmas

First Sunday in Advent
Second Sunday in Advent
Third Sunday in Advent
Fourth Sunday in Advent


The celebration of the birth of Jesus Christ

The Birth of our Lord Jesus Christ: Christmas Day, 25 December
First Sunday after Christmas
Second Sunday after Christmas


The revelation of Christ

The Epiphany of our Lord Jesus Christ, 6 January
The Baptism of the Lord: First Sunday after the Epiphany
(Second Sunday to the Sixth Sunday after the Epiphany)*

Seventh Sunday after the Epiphany (Septuagesima)
Eighth Sunday after the Epiphany (Sexagesima)
Ninth Sunday after the Epiphany (Quinquagesima)


A time of preparation for Holy Week and Easter

First day of Lent: Ash Wednesday
First Sunday in Lent
Second Sunday in Lent
Third Sunday in Lent
Fourth Sunday in Lent
Fifth Sunday in Lent: Passion Sunday

Holy Week

The passion of our Lord

Palm Sunday: Sixth Sunday in Lent
Monday in Holy Week
Tuesday in Holy Week
Wednesday in Holy Week
Maundy Thursday
Good Friday
Holy Saturday


The resurrection and ascension of Jesus Christ

Easter Eve
Easter Day: the Day of Resurrection
Monday in Easter Week
Tuesday in Easter Week
First Sunday after Easter: Low Sunday
Second Sunday after Easter
Third Sunday after Easter
Fourth Sunday after Easter
Fifth Sunday after Easter
Ascension Day
Sunday after Ascension Day
The Day of Pentecost: Whitsunday

Pentecost celebrates the coming of the Holy Spirit
and the birth of the Church.

The Sundays after Pentecost

Trinity Sunday: First Sunday after Pentecost
Second Sunday to the Twenty-Third Sunday after Pentecost
(Twenty-Fourth Sunday to the Twenty-Seventh Sunday after
Sunday before Advent

* The number of Sundays after Epiphany or Pentecost depends upon the date of Easter.
See Table on pages 940-941.

A New Zealand Prayer Book | He Karakia Mihinare o Aotearoa

Go to: Contents Page